Bookmarking

Bookmarking

To quickly bookmark a page, simply navigate to the page, open the Diigo toolbar (if it is not already open), and click the bookmark icon. To bookmark a page with non-default settings click the icon again or click the word “Bookmark”. The bookmark options dialog will open.



Bookmarking Options

The bookmark options dialog lets you customize everything about he bookmark including how it will be displayed and organized in your library.



Public/Private

Near the top of the bookmark options dialog is a checkbox with the label “Private”. When this box is checked, the bookmark will be visible only to you until you decide to share it with others. If the box is unchecked, the bookmark will be saved publicly, allowing any Diigo user to view it.


Title

You can edit the bookmark title to anything you would like. Many websites do not use descriptive titles on their pages, so it will be beneficial to change the title to something you will easily recognize and remember in your library.


Description

Adding a description to your bookmark will help you remember why you bookmarked it, and it will serve as an explanation when sharing the bookmark with others.


Tags

Tags help you organize and filter items in your library. Think of tags as labels for category and topic just like a real library. You can type your own tags or click on any of the tags that appear below the tag entry box to add them.


Used Last

Tags that you have used commonly or recently will appear just under the tag entry box. This is useful when building a specific collection because it is easy to tag the items you’re collecting with matching labels.


Recommended

Recommended tags will display words that are often repeated in the webpage you are bookmarking. For example, articles about technology use the word “technology” often, so it will be a recommended label.


More Options

Click “More Options” to access the less commonly used features.


Read Later

Check “Read Later” to save the page in your library as unread. This way you can easily remember to read articles and other web pages that you don’t currently have time for.


Add to a List

Check “Add to a List”, and a drop-down menu will display, allowing you to choose one of your lists to add the bookmark to, or to create a new list for the bookmark.


Share to a Group

“Share to a Group” is similar. Simply check the option, and choose one of your groups. A copy of the bookmark will be saved and shared with the desired group.


Upload cache

Check “Upload Cache” to save the page itself, not just a link to it. This is useful for pages that change commonly. Many blogs use one page to display all recent blog posts. If the post you bookmarked becomes too old to display on the page, it may become difficult to find. If you cache a page, a copy will be made, which will remain exactly as it was when you bookmarked it.


Twitter this!

Check “Twitter this!” to open a window that will allow you to share the bookmark on Twitter after saving.


Save vs. Save & Send

The “Save” button simply saves the bookmark directly to your library. The “Save & Send” button will save the bookmark to your library and open the dialog that will let you share the bookmark with a friend on Diigo.


Edit URL

Edit URL is an advanced option. If you click the URL of the page in the bookmark options dialog, you can edit the URL. This may be useful if you want to exclude certain things such as search terms from the saved bookmark’s URL.

Comments